My husband and I always joke that we do not feel like adults. We are just a couple of kids at heart who have a lot of responsibility! I know that  we have been lucky that we have not had to deal with many issues within our relationship or with our extended families. Then recently my Mom had major back surgery. The feeling you get when you walk in a hospital room and see the woman you have always looked to for strength and comfort look so small, frail it is like a kick in the gut. I could see it in my oldest son’s face as he walked into the room and saw the condition of his grandmother. My youngest daughter was afraid to get close and kiss her grandmother at first. It made me realize that now the tables have turned. My mother has always taken care of us and now I know the roles will be reversed.  I knew one day this day would come but it seems like it came so quickly. I know moving forward, as my mother and in-laws get older my husband, myself, and our siblings will now be the new caregivers. Then the day will come when our children will be our caregivers. It made me realize that everything comes full circle.